Memorial Injury Prevention Coordinator Wins Safety Award

Alice Blakesley of Memorial Hospital of South Bend and Safe Kids St. Joseph County was the recipient of the Seventh Annual Connie K. Gibbs Child Safety Advocate Award in Indianapolis. This annual event honors the efforts of individuals and organizations in Indiana who exhibit true dedication to the prevention of injuries and deaths among children.

As Co-Coordinator for Safe Kids of St. Joseph County and as the Injury Prevention Coordinator in the Leighton Trauma Center at Memorial Hospital, Alice is deeply respected regarding a multitude of injury prevention topics.

Alice’s activities include child passenger safety, bike safety, “Trauma Nurses Talk Tough,” fall prevention, poison prevention, babysitting classes, and Halloween safety. Through all of her efforts this past year, she and a team of injury prevention specialists in St. Joseph County have reached approximately 10,000 children and teens in the community.

Other award winners included the following: Katelynne Edge of Lefler Collision and Glass, Chief Julie Dijkstra of the Nappanee Police Department, Dan Barga of Dorel Juvenile Group and Safe Kids Bartholomew County, the Automotive Safety Team at IU Health Ball Memorial Hospital, and Teresa Jones of IU Health Arnett Hospital.



Maggie Scroope
(574) 647-3234

Edgar Diaz
(574) 647-3273